Things I'm Loving

Because We All Need Some Beauty

Happy Wednesday, friend!

You are reading The How to Live Newsletter: Your weekly guide offering insights from psychology to help you navigate life’s challenges, one Wednesday at a time.

Donating is Advocating

This newsletter is a free mental health resource, but it requires significant time and financial investment to produce each week. If you've gained wisdom or insight from these newsletters, please consider making a donation or upgrading to a $6/month subscription. Your patronage has an enormous impact and makes a real difference in keeping this resource paywall free. 🙏🏼❤️

Today, I’m doing something a little different…

I thought I’d shake things up and share with you a handful of things that bring me joy—something I’m finding harder to come by these days.

MUSIC (& DANCE)

I cringe when people ask me what I “do for fun.”

Perhaps it’s that I don’t have a good answer, or that I enjoy my work, and find what I do fun (except for when it’s awful).

Maybe it’s just the wrong question to ask me. After all, walking through my neighborhood is fun. Being with friends is fun. Making plans is fun. Thinking up ideas for future pieces or stories is fun. Watching TV is fun. Making dinner is fun. Snacking is fun. Reading is fun. Like, WHAT DO YOU WANT FROM ME?

The question itself implies that fun must be compartmentalized, that it can exist only outside of one’s daily life, but I’d prefer to find ways to integrate fun throughout my day.

ALL THAT SAID, I have FINALLY found something that I DO FOR FUN….and it’s ONE DAY CHOIR 👇

I came across this song scrolling through Instagram, and watched it over and over and then learned, minutes later, that he wrote the song about a panic attack. His voice! The melody!

I’ve loved Kaki King for a LONG time, and this song especially.

Master KG—Jerusalema (Ft. Nomcebo)

4 years on, and this is still my favorite song (not my favorite video, though).

STILL my favorite dancer, dancing here to my favorite song (above)

PODCAST

I’m a die-hard Phoebe Judge fan. You’ve never heard a voice quite like hers. It’s a lullaby. Criminal is just one of her many podcasts (I also love This is Love). This particular episode of Criminal is one of my all time favorites.

BEV!

I don’t drink (anymore). My go-to non-alcoholic drink was a seltzer with bitters with lemon juice, but then my sister-in-law introduced me to this drink, and it’s now my go to. Pour some over ice. You’ll see…

BEAUTY & NATURE

There are no words for how beautiful this is.

Because, some people love bird watching!

The invisible world that coalesces to make health and disease can be, well, visually beautiful. (From Nautilus, a magazine I love).

And you? What are YOU loving? Let me know in the comments!

Until next week, I will remain…

Amanda

VITAL INFO:

Nope, I am not a licensed therapist or medical professional. I am simply a person who struggled with undiagnosed mental health issues for over two decades and spent 23 years in therapy learning how to live. Now, I'm sharing the greatest hits of what I learned to spare others from needless suffering.

Most, but not all, links are affiliate, which means I receive a small percentage of the price at no cost to you, which goes straight back into the newsletter.

💋 Don't keep How to Live a secret: Share this newsletter with friends looking for insight.

❤️ New here? Subscribe!

🙋🏻‍♀️ Email me with questions, comments, or topic ideas! [email protected]

🥲 Not in love? 👇

Join the conversation

or to participate.