FREE BONUS! Libraries are the Antidote to Loneliness

Where we spend our time is how we spend our lives

Today’s bonus is free for everyone!

Libraries need our help to stay open and funded. Please take a minute to read.

NEWSLETTER TO CHECK OUT:

IN PRAISE OF LIBRARIES

I am on the Brooklyn Public Library’s Arts & Letters Committee. We help spread the word about the value of the library, and ask people to donate to keep libraries alive and thriving.

I remember going there as a child for story hour, doing my homework, learning how to use the xerox machine, find books on my own, and when I was old enough to check them out, I was so proud of my library card, I kept it forever.

People often overlook the things they can get for free—I am not one of those people. FREE is my absolute favorite amount of money to spend.

My most recent free library acquisition were my eclipse glasses. Several summers ago, in Massachusetts, I went to the library to borrow a camping tent!!

Two years ago, Netflix invited me to fly to Toronto to be on set for the movie Adam Sandler made of my pseudonymous Young Adult novel. They booked my ticket and hotel room for the first week of August. The last week of July, I glanced at my passport, horrified to discover it was expiring in three days.

But there was a bigger problem; I could only get an appointment at the passport agency in HAWAII! There was an 8 month wait for an appointment in NYC.

I went to my local library for help.

They told me to email Hakeem Jeffries, my local congressman, and explain my dilemma. I did, and they emailed right back, asked to see my flight and hotel info, and then they got me an appointment in NYC for the next morning, and in 24 hours, I had a renewed passport.

Had I not gone to the library, I would never have known to call my local representative, and most likely, I would not have made it to Toronto.

GUYS! THE LIBRARY IS WHERE IT’S AT!

My first library card

Here are some things you might be missing. (This is Brooklyn based, but I guarantee libraries outside of NYC are doing the same things, and probably more).

The Center for Brooklyn History (once known as the Brooklyn Historical Society) offers (among many other things) an incredible program of conversations.

  1. Medical Racism, An Issue of Life and Death

  1. The Battle for the Right to Read What You Want

  1. Mutualism in Action: Brooklyn’s Communities in Action

OTHER OFFERINGS INCLUDE, a free university!

UNIVERSITY OPEN AIR

MENTAL HEALTH RESOURCES

Social Support — the library has events to explain all its resources and the myriad ways it can support you

LEARN, GET FIT, GET HELP!

Got questions your kids are tired of answering? Ask a Tech!

Get in Shape! (Try Yoga)

Need a Notary? GO TO THE LIBRARY!

Teens! Do you Need Products and Information About Your Period? Guess What? The Library Has a Period Pantry!

After painful mid-year budget cuts, Brooklyn Public Library faces even more cuts in the upcoming fiscal year.

If the library means as much to you as it does to me, please help protect funding, and tell city leaders: NO CUTS TO LIBRARIES.

Will you sign and send a letter urging city leaders to protect library funding? 👇

And please help spread the word. Refer to the Brooklyn Public Library’s social media kit and suggested copy for all your platforms RIGHT HERE.

Thank you!

Amanda

VITAL INFO:

Nope, I am not a licensed therapist or medical professional. I am simply a person who struggled with undiagnosed mental health issues for over two decades and spent 23 years in therapy learning how to live. Now, I'm sharing the greatest hits of what I learned to spare others from needless suffering.

Most, but not all, links are affiliate, which means I receive a small percentage of the price at no cost to you, which goes straight back into the newsletter.

💋 Don't keep How to Live a secret: Share this newsletter with friends looking for insight.

❤️ New here? Subscribe!

🙋🏻‍♀️ Email me with questions, comments, or topic ideas! [email protected]

🥲 Not in love? 👇

Join the conversation

or to participate.