Amelia Earhart on marriage as a cage.

Ever since I was a child, I’ve loved Amelia Earhart. I admired her singular commitment to her career, which was her passion, such that she worried marriage would keep her from flying and considered the institution “a cage.”

And while she did end up marrying—it took up to six proposals to convince her.

The wedding was as unromantic as it gets: she and publisher George Palmer Putnam married in the Lockheed aircraft factory in Burbank, Calif, and Earhart demanded there be no press announcement.

Even in the 1930s, the New York Times was pissing people off. Instead of respecting her wishes to not be called “Mrs. Putnam” after she and George married, they disregarded her.

And so, she had her say.

“Despite the mild expression of my wishes, and those of G.P.P., I am constantly referred to as ‘Mrs. Putnam’ when the Times mentions me in its columns.”

Amelia Earhart

She wrote the Times and asked that they respect her as they do writers and actresses.

“I admit I have no principle to uphold in asking that I be called by my professional name in print. However, it is for many reasons more convenient for both of us to be simply ‘Amelia Earhart.’ After all (here may be a principle) I believe flyers should be permitted the same privileges as writers or actresses.”

Amelia Earhart

A marriage made her nervous. She didn’t want to be locked down by anyone, nor did she want to be tied to just one person.

Subscribe to the How to Live Newsletter to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of the How to Live Newsletter to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In

A subscription gets you:
Access to all BONUS Posts
Seasonal Invites to In-Person Gatherings
Email Advice, Research and Resource Guidance.
Recs, Favorites, themed Q&A's, Wisdom From Cherished Figures...

Join the conversation

or to participate.